2. Ladner, a friendly little riverside town

Now that there was a little more breathing room, I took advantage of this opportunity to move up to the top level of the sauna. I always preferred this seat as it allowed me to see out the saunas windows. From there, I could watch the people frolicking in the pool area. People watching can be a fun past time where I live.

No sooner was I seated, when perpetrador número tres (goon #3) started in on me:

“I haven’t seen you around here before man,” he said somewhat aggressively.

“I was just about to say the same thing! I haven’t seen ANY of you guys here before. Where are you from? Do you live in Ladner?” I replied quickly. The thought had been on the tip of my tongue since I first stepped into the sweat room.

He was a little taken aback by the sharpness of my reply and said immediately, “Yes, I live here now over on 64th.”

“Oh I know that area, across the highway right. What’s the cross street?” I further inquired.

Yes, that’s right muchacho, I’m making notes. He didn’t say anything to this.

A lull ensued in the conversation, and I took this opportunity to replay scenes from Scarface in my head. My favorite scene immediately came to mind:

The chainsaw scene is a great example of how even a hardworking, talented and ambitious psychopath such as Tony Montana, could be bamboozled into a bad situation. How did they do it? By using a girl with a culo buen of course. Remember her? She is there to get him to lower his guard.

scarfacestill3[4]

This guy can’t be all that bad I thought. He probably immigrated here not too long ago, in search of a better life. Who knows? Maybe he has family, or sends money back to his relatives whereever he is from.

“Do you want to hear a song I am working on man?” I asked. “It goes like this.”

“Laaaaaadner,
It’s a friendly little riverside town,
You can get halibut, crab, shrimp and oysters,
At the local seafood shop,
You can get snapper, salmon, sole even urchin …”

“That’s terrible man. Really bad,” he interrupted.

“C’mon man gimme a break. It’s a work in progress. I love this town, but it needs a song man. Don’t you think? Celebrate life right? Fresh fish for everybody!!” I still believe this to this day by the way. (Please add your Ladner song lyrics ideas in the comments.)

“You want to know what I believe in man?” I asked as I hopped off the bench. “Love. Love is everywhere, in everything and everybody. Love is the answer. It is the only thing worth anything in this world.”

He gave me a wide eyed puppy dog look for a split second.

“But it’s getting hot in here, so I gotta go!” I said.

“hahaha”

“hahaha”

Leave a Reply

